On the eve of departure

It’s 10:05 pm and I leave first thing in the morning to begin my GPP 2017 trip to Switzerland.  It seems like the the last few weeks have flown by and I’ve hardly had time to make any preparations. Still on my to do list for tonight are: email the dog sitter to confirm, pack toiletries, clean the guest bathroom, take out the trash, and do the final luggage check.  But, if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last few years is that everything that needs to happen will happen and the things that don’t happen must not have been that important anyway.

I’m having some apprehensions about the trip.  Mostly about my ability to keep up with the pace, being 6 months pregnant and all.  I have no doubt the meetings and conversations will be interesting and that I will learn a lot about higher ed in Europe, but I’m worried that I won’t be able to fully enjoy the experience due to my sciatica and constant exhaustion.  I will have to know my limits (something I’m not great at doing) and make sure to take care of myself and the baby.

That said, I don’t want to miss out on a thing!  I fully intend to take advantage of every opportunity to build relationships and take part in the amazing experiences that I know will happen over the next two weeks.  For now, I have to finish packing and get some rest, since I have a feeling the the overnight flight from DC to Frankfurt to Zurich will be anything but restful.

Bisdahin auf Wiedersehen!

(“Until then, goodbye!” according to google translate)

 

 

Leave a Reply

